The official international football tournament of the national teams in South America, also known as Copa America 2019 officially started on June 15.

This year, Brazil is the host country. This will be the fifth time this country has the honor of being chosen as the host country of Copa America. The previous times were in 1919, 1922, 1949 and 1989.

Because only 10 teams in South America including Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile (defending Copa America), Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela, The South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) invited two Japanese and Qatar teams participated to have 12 teams divided into 3 groups.

In the group stage (from June 15 to 25), the groups will compete in a round-robin format, the first two teams of each group will go straight to the quarterfinals. The remaining capacity in the knockout round will be for the 2 teams ranked 3rd with the best performance.

– Group A: Brazil, Bolivia, Venezuela, Peru

– Group B: Argentina, Colombia, Paraguay and Qatar

– Group C: Uruguay, Ecuador, Japan, Chile

The criteria for selecting a third team with good results are: Score, goal difference-goal difference, number of goals, result of direct confrontation, difference in direct confrontation, number of goals in the match Direct confrontation, and fair-play score.

In the quarterfinals (from June 28 to June 30), matches will only be played for 90 minutes. After the official time is closed, if the two teams draw, they will play the penalty shootout without extra time.

From the semi-finals, if the matches end in a draw, the two teams will play an extra 30 minutes divided into 2 extra innings. Shoot-outs will take place after extra time if the two teams are inconclusive.

The semi-finals take place on July 3 and July 4, the 3rd place place on July 7, and the final on July 8-7.

Copa America is held every 4 years on odd years. However, from 2020, Copa America will be held the same year as the EURO European Championship. The first Copa America tournament to be organized in a new fashion will be the 2020 tournament in Argentina and Colombia between June 12 and July 12.

What’s New in Copa America 2019?
Tagged on: